State Fund
Board Of Directors:

  • Jeanne Cain, Chair
  • Sheryl Chalupa
  • Francis Quinlan
  • Daniel M. Curtin
  • Sen. Michael J. Machado (Ret.),
    Senate Designee
  • Tom Rankin, Assembly Designee
  • Don Garcia
  • Lawrence Mulryan (Ret.)
  • Steve Rank
  • James Richardson
  • William Zachry
  • (Ex Officio Member)
    John Duncan

State Fund
Executive Committee:

  • Interim President/
    Chief Executive Officer
    Doug Stewart
  • General Counsel
    Carol Newman
  • Chief Information Officer
    Shaun Coyne
  • Chief Investment Officer
    Peter A. Guastamachio
  • Chief Financial Officer
    Jay Stewart
  • Chief Operating Officer
    Harrison Jerome
  • Executive Vice President Actuarial/Chief Advisor
    Jim Neary
  • President/Claims Operations
    Linda Hoban
  • President/Field Operations
    Tom Clark
  • Senior Vice President
    Human Resources and
    Organizational Development
    Andreas Acker
  • Communications Director
    Jennifer Vargen

Upon completion of a national search for a President and CEO, the State Fund Board of Directors appointed Tom Rowe, effective August 2, 2010.

Statement by Tom Rowe:

I commend Doug Stewart and everyone at State Fund for being on the job for California. I have worked in the property casualty business my entire career, and I believe that State Fund represents what is best about this industry. I am passionate about our mission and will ensure State Fund continues to provide employers with a strong and stable choice for their workers’ compensation insurance while making California’s workplaces safer and helping injured employees return to work—without financial obligation from the public.

Tom Rowe
President and CEO